Skip to content

EarthScope congratulates community winners of 2023 AGU awards

Tags: honors and awards

EarthScope Consortium would like to congratulate a number of community members—including former staff members, collaborative projects, and individuals who have volunteered considerable time as Board of Directors members or short course instructors—on receiving 2023 AGU awards. AGU, the world’s largest Earth and space science association, annually recognizes a select number of individuals for its highest honors. AGU will formally recognize this year’s recipients at AGU23, which will convene more than 25,000 attendees from over 100 countries in San Francisco and online everywhere on 11-15 December 2023.

profile photo

John Taber, former director of the IRIS Education and Public Outreach (EPO) program, was selected to receive the 2023 AGU Excellence in Earth and Space Science Education Award. This award is given annually to a mid-career or senior scientist team, individual, or group demonstrating a sustained commitment to excellence in geophysical education. Successful candidates have made long-lasting, positive impacts in the Earth and space sciences at any education level from kindergarten through postgraduate studies. John Taber is recognized by the global Earth and space sciences community for his leadership, advocacy, and impact at the interface between the seismology research and geoscience education communities.

“I’m deeply honored and humbled to have been nominated and then selected by my colleagues to receive this award,” said Taber. “I’ve been very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work with so many talented and passionate individuals throughout the geoscience education and research communities, and I feel the award is a tribute to those efforts.”

OpenTopography logo

OpenTopography, a National Science Foundation (NSF) funded data facility operated collaboratively between the San Diego Supercomputer Center at University of California, San Diego, EarthScope Consortium, and Arizona State University, has been selected to receive the inaugural Open Science Recognition Prize from the American Geophysical Union. The prize is awarded to a person or team for outstanding work in advancing Open Science related to Earth and space science and its impact globally. 

The OpenTopography principal investigators Viswanath Nandigam (SDSC), Christopher Crosby (EarthScope), Chelsea Scott (ASU), and Ramon Arrowsmith (ASU) are recognized by the global Earth and space sciences community for outstanding contributions in cyberinfrastructure, data management, training, and outreach associated with open access high resolution topography.

Stacked headshot photos of Kristel Chanard and Brendan Crowell

Kristel Chanard, current member of the EarthScope Board of Directors and Research Scientist at the Institut de physique du globe de Paris, and Brendan Crowell, former member of the UNAVCO Board of Directors and Assistant Research Professor at at University of Washington, both received the John Wahr Award. This award is intended to honor young members of AGU’s Geodesy Section who show the potential to become AGU Fellows in the future. The John Wahr Award is given in recognition of major advances in geodesy within geodetic science, technology, applications, observations, or theory.

Terry Wilson, former member of the UNAVCO Board of Directors and Professor Emeritus at The Ohio State University, and Paul Rosen, long time lead instructor on UNAVCO InSAR short courses and Project Scientist at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, both received the Ivan I. Mueller Award for Distinguished Service and Leadership. This award is presented annually and recognizes significant achievements in service to, or leadership in, the geodesy community by a mid-career or senior scientist. The Mueller Award encompasses all areas of geodesy, including exceptional performance in fieldwork; the development and maintenance of major software systems; leadership in scientific initiatives, education, and public outreach; as well as other service and leadership achievements.

Headshot of Karen Fischer

Karen Fischer, former member of the IRIS Board of Directors and Distinguished Professor at Brown University, received the Inge Lehmann Medal. This award is given annually to a senior scientist in recognition of outstanding contributions to the understanding of the structure, composition, and dynamics of the Earth’s mantle and core.

Headshot of Susan Beck

Susan Beck, former IRIS Board Chair of Board of Directors member and Professor at the University of Arizona, received the Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service. This award is presented annually and recognizes significant contributions to the fields of geodesy, seismology, or tectonophysics from a mid-career or senior scientist.