Skip to content

Board of Directors election results

Tags: governance

graphic with photos and names of the four election winners, text says welcome to our new 2024 board of directors members

This year’s Board of Directors election is complete and the votes from consortium member representatives have been tallied. We have some incoming Board members to welcome, and others to thank!

The Board of Directors serves as non-profit governance to EarthScope Consortium. Additionally, a number of Advisory Committees provide community input to the SAGE and GAGE facilities.


Four new members are joining the Board of Directors to serve three-year terms starting in 2024. Welcome to:

  • Ruth Aronoff, Associate Professor of Structural Geology & Tectonics at Furman University
  • Colleen Dalton, Professor of Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences at Brown University
  • Andrew Newman, Professor in the School of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences at Georgia Tech
  • Paul Winberry, Research Associate in the Department of Geological Sciences at Central Washington University

We would also very much like to thank the other four candidates for being willing to serve: Associate Professor Aditya Kar, Associate Research Professor Vera Schulte-Pelkum, Assistant Professor Matthew Siegried, and Associate Professor Sarah Stamps.

Outgoing and continuing members

The four current Board members whose terms are ending are Jeffrey Freymueller, Brandon Schmandt, Leigh Stearns, and Anne Sheehan. We thank them for their contributions!

Board members with continuing terms include: Kristel Chanard, Zachary Eilon, Gareth Funning, Paul Lundgren, Beatrice Magnani, Frederik Simons, Tonie van Dam, and Lara Wagner.

We appreciate all members of the Board of Directors and Advisory Committees for generously volunteering their time. Their perspectives representing a breadth of our community help ensure that we are responsive to the community’s evolving needs.